Beards Brewery

Brewery · Petoskey

Beards Brewery

Brewery · Petoskey

1

215 E Lake St, Petoskey, MI 49770

Photos

Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null
Beards Brewery by null

Highlights

Hand-crafted beers, vinyl, board games, and great bay views  

Featured in Eater
Placeholder

215 E Lake St, Petoskey, MI 49770 Get directions

beardsbrewery.com
@beardsbrewery

$$

Information

Static Map

215 E Lake St, Petoskey, MI 49770 Get directions

+1 231 753 2221
beardsbrewery.com
@beardsbrewery
𝕏
@BeardsBrewery

$$

Features

payment credit card
Tap to pay
wifi

Last updated

Aug 27, 2025

Powered By

You might also like

Terms of Use • Privacy Policy • Cookie Policy
 © 2025 Postcard Technologies, Inc.
@eater

Where to Dine and Drink in Petoskey

"Pizza and beer is a pretty classic pairing. Even better? Scratch made pizza, house brewed beer, and a view of Little Traverse Bay. The wild mushroom pie at this locally loved brewery is loaded with marinated mushrooms, caramelized onions, fresh mozzarella, and a garlic cream sauce and is especially good with their Deez Nutz brown ale. Not drinking? Beard’s recently got in on the non-alcoholic game by launching Michigan Hop Water, a carbonated hopped tea. The brewery offers indoor seating, but their open-air bar with views of Lake Michigan is optimal." - Stacey Brugeman

https://detroit.eater.com/maps/best-restaurants-bar-breweries-petoskey-michigan
View Postcard for Beards Brewery

Ryan Russow

Google
Great spot for beer, lunch, dinner, and entertainment. They have karaoke and live music on certain nights. The patio is great and roll up garage doors let you enjoy the weather. Family friendly with a N64 for kids/ adults or games like big Jenna and cards. 1st time here and we would love to come back. Thank you for making it a great stop for a family

Megan Foster

Google
I’ll start with the good- the view is amazing and it was easy to grab a spot on Sunday for lunch. The staff was nice. The food was way overpriced for what it was. This was a $17 salad-very small and the salad and dressing was really lacking flavor. The Cajun fries was a cup full of these broken, bottom of the bag fries. Overall the food was a disappointment for everyone. If you are just looking to grab a beer and a beautiful view then I’d give it a try… just grab your meal elsewhere.

Tina P.

Google
Staff was very friendly. Different system. You can only order at the bar. Food does not come with a side. Not even chips. I had the Caprese wrap with chicken. $17!! Had no flavor. Lunch for two was almost $70. A bit disappointed. Drinks were good.

Amy Contos

Google
The casual dining and patio were terrific. Thank you for taking care of my elote fix! The menu was creative and didn’t disappoint! Thank you, Emily, for taking good care of us! The Citranity was a perfect suggestion.

Amanda Oliver

Google
So glad they changed their dogs on patio policy, we brought our dog back this afternoon! Great views of the water, counter service, highlight was the Italian wrap - very substantial in size. We’ll definitely be back.

Katy Wessel

Google
Good beer, great view, friendly staff. I haven't been here since 2016 when Beards was in kind of a back alley building, but it was quirky and had games to play, and we really liked it! Fast forward: great location, but beer is still top-notch! I'll be back!

Mark Higgins

Google
Great food and views. We enjoyed our beers, too. Even though they were busy, the service was good.

Andy Hazel

Google
Beards has long been one of my favorite breweries in northern Michigan. We come every year on our annual camping trip, but unfortunately I dont think we will be back. The change to ordering at the bar is disappointing. Instead of chatting with friends and family, I stood in line to order drinks. They didn't have any of the classic staple beers that I had come to love, so I chose to get a flight to sample what they did have. Unfortunately they were out of 3 of the 4 I wanted to try. I picked a few others but was left shocked when I paid my tab and found that my flight of 5 samples was $20! $4 per sample is insulting when a pint is $7.50. Sure, I could have asked ahead of time but I didn't because I expected $2-2.50 per sample as is average with most other breweries i visit. Overall the beer was just alright (personal taste preference) There was also no pizza on the menu anymore so we chose to eat elsewhere. The things I used to love about Beards are gone, and that may be ok to others, but for me, I dont think I will be back. Edit after owner response: First, I left an honest review, covering my experience. I could have simply said "this place sucks", but I chose to write a "novel" instead. Second, your prices for flights are NOT posted on your menu. I've attached a photo incase you haven't seen it recently. Third, I gave an honest 2 stars but after your response, and other responses to recent reviews, I reduced to 1 star because its the lowest possible. The owners response clearly shows they dont care about improving. Lastly, I was being nice when I said I didn't like the beer because of personal preference. Please dont include GOOD AT BEER on you epitaph either.
google avatar

Lynn M.

Yelp
We drank and ate here on a short visit to Petoskey. The Brimley Stout was tasty but a bit flat to me. After sampling the King's Imperial Stout and Deez Nutz Brown Ale, I added a pint of the Deez Nutz to my meal after the Brimley. Had I sampled the King's Imperial Stout first, I would have ordered that, but it could be considered a meal in itself. It's that full. The Deez Nutz had excellent flavor and just a touch of effervescence making it a very nice Brown Ale. My wife had the chicken sandwich which was quite grisly on one end...disappointing. I had the Southern Comfort Chicken sandwich that was quite tasty. I also ordered the truffle Parmesan fries as an appetizer and while good, the quantity for $9 was disappointing. The regular fries and seasoned chips were very good. This is a brew pub of the typical flair with better beer than food. If we were to go again, I would order something different to give it a try. Worth it for the right beer.
google avatar

Denaya W.

Yelp
Service was nonexistent. The two different beers we tried were not very good. Food was convenience store quality. I have nothing positive to say about our experience here.
google avatar

Pam P.

Yelp
Stopped in to pick up some beers to take home and discovered a pretty cool setup! There's a community beer lounge down in the "cellar" and a combo restaurant/bar/shop on the main floor. Loved the vibe--such a neat concept!

Spencer N.

Yelp
Hazy is great, vibes are amazing. one of my favorite stops in Petoskey and always stop in for a beer
google avatar

Laura M.

Yelp
This butternut squash squash soup here is the Best I've ever had!!! I wish I had more room in my tummy to order more. It's thick, creamy, flavorful and topped off with olive oil and pepper. ‍The server was was prompt and kind. The atmosphere is a bar, lots of open space.

John S.

Yelp
Food was terrible (probably ready-made frozen) hardly any chicken in the chicken pesto wrap, everything is self service, No refills on soda policy as the bartender said there's too much table sharing. Staff not very friendly. But the view is very nice. I would not return based on lack of service and food quality.

Rodney G.

Yelp
Like many places after COVID in Northern MI, this place has deteriorated. They can't hire enough wait staff and service workers to maintain any sort of cleanliness or good customer service. Beer is ok but I cannot believe one of the best locations can't get it figured out! People want good food with their beer and friendly service. Nor do the want to feel like they need to shower after eating out. I hope this wonderful spot can get it figured out

Zach M.

Yelp
The view is cool. Otherwise it's crazy expensive and you get barely any food. $10 for a tiny cup of cheese curds, $31 for 8 chicken nuggets and some mozzarella sticks. Just seems excessive. The place wasn't very busy and we all waited over a half hour for a bunch of fried food. Some people didn't even end up getting their food at all and got a refund after 45+ minutes. Head somewhere else!
google avatar

Christine L.

Yelp
Family of 4 on vacation in a tourist town. Sat ourselves. Waited for staff to bring menus. No one shows up. Go to bar for more information. Handed Menus and told to order ourselves and pick up. Well that turned us off from ordering drinks as well. Took our menus. Sat down and figured out what we wanted to order. Went back to bar. Placed our food order. Waited a long time for our food and picked it up at the window. Two burgers, quesadilla, and a Greek wrap, $70 sub par food. I don't recommend the Greek wrap. No flavor Not my idea of Hospitality Service.

Kristin H.

Yelp
I really don't like posting these types of reviews but the concept of this restaurant was off putting and not a typical restaurant/brewery experience. You walk in and are not greeted by a human, but instead a sign to seat yourself. There is no service whatsoever and they still flip the screen for a tip. That's fine - but would have been nice to know since we came here for a birthday. Pop was flat. 3/4 of us got wraps and they were as basic as can be. The BLT had maybe 10 pieces of pea sized bacon bit bacon. $14 was steep for the gas station quality ingredients. There was no flavor in the wraps and overall just a really disappointing dining experience.
google avatar

Linda H.

Yelp
We stopped here for my guys to sample the beer. They enjoyed those sampled. I do not drink beer; however, there was a special drink with some vodka in it. I was starving and ordered the soup and sandwich combo. The butternut squash soup was delicious, warm, creamy and seasoned lightly. I added the grilled cheese sando, also delicious. We sat outside and had our food and drinks while looking at the bay. It was a delightful day. The service employees were all very friendly and knowledgeable. At this brewery you order everything from the bar area and when food is ready, you get a text and go pick it up from the bar.
google avatar

Jim S.

Yelp
Nice lunch, but.... We had very good sandwiches, the Rueben and the buffalo chicken with chips. Both were tasty, with fresh buns/bread and flavorful sauces and plenty to eat. We also had the Lager and an Oktoberfest beers. The Oktoberfest was very nice, well balanced, smooth, and good flavor. The Lager tasted fine, but was cloudy (not clear).... But.... I was surprised that it all was a self-service operation. That is, you order/pay everything at the bar, then haul it all to your table, including the meals, silverware, water, beers.... And then clean your table afterwards.. I can see this to save money on staff, but the meals/beers were far from inexpensive- plus they ask for a tip on top of it...? I'll come back, because the facility was clean, staff is super nice, and the view was lovely overlooking the Bay.
google avatar

Amy B.

Yelp
Beards has been a favorite of ours for quite a few years. We live in California, but our families live in Petoskey. We were very much looking forward to having lunch at Beards without realizing that the menu and experience have changed a lot since 2019. The beer is still great. The views are amazing. The staff was really friendly. But the food... so disappointing. A $16 counter service burrito was served on a paper plate with no salsa, no side of chips... just an aggressively mediocre burrito all alone on a paper plate. A little cup of salsa or sour cream would've elevated this overpriced item to something I wouldn't have rated a 2 on a scale of 1-10. One of our party had a chicken sandwich and liked it - that was $18 and had a side of potato chips. In general, I understand that it's very hard to get waitstaff up north and Beards is trying to stay afloat, but I would not have a meal there again under the current model. I'd definitely stop by for a beer or two after dinner, though. They continue to be a top-notch brewery with friendly, polite staff, but the food is disappointing compared to what it used to be.

Stephanie S.

Yelp
If I could give this place zero stars, I would. The entire experience is self-serve. You go up and order your meal and drinks at the bar. You wait and pick up your food at the "pick-up" window. Zero wait staff, zero interaction with anyone on staff. A burger and beer were $32. Served on paper plates and a cafeteria tray. The food was not good. Tables were dirty, and all the condiment containers on every table were empty. This place needs a complete renovation. Both with the business model and overall cleanliness. Dont waste your money or time.
google avatar

Mike S.

Yelp
Great views. Good beer. Good service. Parking is a bit of a challenge. The food was very good. We split a few dishes. The mac n cheese was excellent. The cheese bread was a bit greasy but was also very good. The tacos were small but had a great flavor. They were a bit spicier than I expected but very well seasoned. My biggest criticism is a brewery that doesn't do flights. I like to try a lot of different styles if I stop into a place and it is disappointing when flights are not an option.
google avatar

Ray B.

Yelp
We had a melting pot family dinner while visiting Michigan for a wedding. It was a Black/Asian/Jewish/Canadian fiesta. They accommodated us at a lovely large table near a window with a beautiful view and the staff was welcoming. Some of the dishes were a little salty, but overall, we had a good meal. If I'm ever in this area again, I would like to return. BB
google avatar

Amanda L.

Yelp
When we popped into Petoskey this summer, Beards Brewery is where we went for dinner on the first night. It has a stunning view of the bay where we could watch the sunset (while also get a bit blinded by the sun as it sets given all the windows this place has, so just bring your sunglasses just in case!) and enjoy great food while we were at it! We got a salad and two pizzas to split amongst the four of us and they were all delicious! Our server was so friendly and the service was fast. The vibes were great and I loved all the quirky beard symbolism all around, along with other subtle touches that made this establishment a bit more unique! I can't speak to their brews as I don't drink, but the food and pop options (they had some local offerings here, which I always love to see) were all delicious!
google avatar

Michael F.

Yelp
I enjoyed the casual, fun atmosphere and bay views. Lobster rolls were awesome. One main point for improvement: taco tortillas need to be warmed!

Kayla L.

Yelp
Ooof save yourself the trip to Beards and just head to Petoskey Brewing Co. Witnessed the decline of this place over the last few years and just had my final stop there. Below average food, jacked up prices, a change from the full service to self service that have all led to its demise. Gave it the extra star since I did like my beer.
google avatar

Mark R.

Yelp
The food and service WAS amazing a few years ago, however due to the excessive cuts in quality of food and no service staff this place is no longer on the rotation. They really just need to serve beer out of a cooler and stop the charade of being a brewery restaurant. Many better options in the Petoskey area.
google avatar

Stephanie C.

Yelp
Beards was a nice little stop on a Sunday evening in downtown Petoskey while were were searching for a place to go. We wanted to see somewhere with a sunset or view, but kind of disappointed in the whole experience. The menu is pretty bar food heavy (burgers and pizza), the cider was not the greatest but I guess my boyfriend enjoyed his beer, and the burger was good. Nothing I'd rave about but the location is what really gets you! We really appreciated the service (so prompt, and food came out fast) but they closed at 8pm (before sunset) and had a guy playing the piano. It wasn't too overwhelming with sound, but I probably wouldn't come back and try somewhere else. However, on a Sunday night... you don't have a ton of options.
google avatar

Michael P.

Yelp
The beer was just OK, the menu was very limited and it took almost a half an hour for a salad with steak and Carnitas tacos on a Tuesday after the lunch rush. I was really put off that a tip was expected when I had to go to the bar to order food, Pick it up at the service window, and it looked like we were expected to bus our own tables. Had to pay for the food upfront and that's when the suggested tips were on the ticket steak on the salad was in incinerated, although we asked for medium rare And the meat and the tacos was very greasy and I couldn't finish the first one. The chips and guacamole were standard and the beer was the only redeeming value and the view if you're looking for a good meal go somewhere else if it wasn't for their location and view outdoor windows, they probably wouldn't stay in business.
google avatar

Keith N.

Yelp
We tried Beards Brewery and it lacked so many things that with a little effort could make it an outstanding place. First, food and brews are walk up service, not bad in and of itself but with only one person trying to take the order, get the drinks and with less than a glowing personality, terrible. Get some servers, there were 4 people walking around cleaning tables and oblivious to help, it seemed(not their job code). Food, such limited items, even if all you wanted was a beer the wait to get served, again, too long. The music is way too loud inside to enjoy much of anything even outside. It might have been to drown out street noise which was nonexistent after the 4th of July weekend. Maybe that's where all the help was, recovering. Didn't see, hear or taste anything to make we want to go back except maybe the Michigan Rattlers t-shirt.

Lee M.

Yelp
Fair beer Great view. Over priced. Snotty staff. 18% service charge automatically added. Staff could care less about service still getting 18% tipped
google avatar

Adam G.

Yelp
First before anything gets misunderstood. I go out of my way to shop at locally owned businesses. We have to support our committees. I will happily tip, I usually over tip and most of the time over 18%. I will not be forced I saw the ridiculous statement on the menu that ALL bills will automatically have 18% gratuity added so they can "pay their staff a living wage". It's not my job to pay YOUR staff, it's YOURS. I pay the business and they pay the staff. If you can't pay your staff with the income you make then you have a bad business model. Don't put the guilt of them not being able to live on me the patron it's your job as an employer to do that. I didn't even bother to order after seeing it, I just left.
google avatar

Kyle L.

Yelp
Everything is okay. This is definitely a ho hum establishment. The blasting of "we don't want to pay our workers enough, so we're passing it on to you" statement is a poor way to start off. Prior to that, selective people were asked if they'd like a beer while waiting and then the hostess at the door (not the restaurant) went to playing on a laptop/phone and ignored others. Our server was not an 18% quality gratuity waitress, yet that's what we paid. She took our order, and checked on us one time (didn't bring our food, didn't get our refills, that was handled by a bar back/busser). She did very little and not to a quality standard. The food was not worth the money. The pzone style sandwiches were overpriced for what they were. They were more of a vegan/vegetarian style pzone, than a meat pzone. The ambiance was good and the views at great. The pizzas were definitely good, and that keeps my review at a 3 star. Overall, just go to Duffys up the street.
google avatar

Eli B.

Yelp
It was a lazy Sunday afternoon and I found my way to Beards for a relaxing meal. A small simple menu but I still felt torn between trying a couple of different things. On the suggestion of the waiter I went with the pizza, which he said was their signature food in house. After some deliberation over what flavors were exciting I chose the Peppadew and Pepperoni pizza. I also ordered, to my delight, a 5 oz of the Deez Nuts on draft. It was great to have a small glass of beer without all the obligation when trying something new. And the flavor of the beer was perfect. It was not as chewy as the menu described yet still a good dark beer taste. I'm not good at describing beer taste but trust me. It's on my favorites list now. On to the pizza!! Omgoodness it was AMAZING! The toppings list is a bit long so I worried flavors would get buried by each other. That is not the case. The onion marmalade adds a nice sweet undertone (it is not too bright) and the peppadew and pepperoni melt together with the fresh mozzarella soooo well. Even the sauce, which many places over use, didn't overpower on this pizza. It was a nice acid underlying the flavors. And don't forget the crust! This is one you'll eat every bite of. It has a good chew and crisp to the bottom and edge. I highly recommend the pizza and beer and im looking forward to another visit already to try more wonderful flavors here.

Michelle G.

Yelp
Just finished lunch here. This was the worst meal out I've had in a long time. Terrible food. Terrible beer. Terrible service. The food took a long time and was both overcooked and cold. The only redeeming quality is the view. I would not recommend or eat here again.
google avatar

Flo V.

Yelp
Exploring Petoskey and with the help of YELP.... found Beards Brewery.... voila' !!! Arrived in time for lunch. We sat at the bar.... w/ COVID, space was limited. Bartender "behind the mask" was very pleasant. Sorry... Didn't get his name. I ordered a flight of 3 beers, I enjoyed every one of them. We also ordered a Cobb Salad & the Mac' n Beer Cheese.... I added chicken. Very cheesy & tasty. Definitely worth stopping when in Petosky

Eric R.

Yelp
This used to be one of my favorite brewery's in Michigan. On our last visit, we were surprised that they changed the entire layout. You now I have to wait in a line to order food and drinks and pick your food up from a window that leads to the kitchen. The whole system doesn't work. The beer isn't good enough to come here for just a drink, it used to be a really nice brewery overlooking the bay and now it just feels confusing. Very sad
google avatar

Lisa B.

Yelp
3.5 -ish stars ... 2 for service. 3 for food. 4 stars for beer. The place was empty yet I had to go find my own plates and forks, flag someone down for a 2nd beer and find someone so I could PAY MY BILL
google avatar

Christopher A.

Yelp
The first thing you see when you look at the menu is them telling you "we include an 18% gratuity all on checks so our servers can afford a living wage. We also DO NOT split checks". I feel this is a very rather negative and off putting first impression. As a customer, it's not my job to pay your staff a "living wage", it's yours at their employer. Guilt tripping your patrons into forced-gratuity is a bad look. We asked why they stopped selling the wings. They said the price of wings went up so much they could no longer afford them. We ordered a Diet Coke and they said they didn't carry it, because Coke makes them jump through "hundreds of hoops" if they want diet, and it's too expensive. Just a very strange conversation (especially given 99.99999% of bars in America serve Diet Coke)... Beer was nice. The food was poor. I ordered the fish tacos and the fish was so tiny that it was barely a mouthful. The owners need to stop penny pinching and worry more about their product and customer experience.

Tom C.

Yelp
2024 changed Beards a lot. No more pizza, tap list is down to 12 (from 16ish) and it's a casual sit down with cafeteria style ordering and pickup. Beer is still great, food is just not good. Menu is all over the place, with Poke and tacos alongside lobster rolls and chicken sandwiches. We used to love the cozy ambiance and menu offerings and were frequent customers whenever we were in town. The new vibes seem like a definite downgrade. I hope they fix it. Won't be back until they do.

Joseph L.

Yelp
1 star is me being nice about it, food took wayyy to long then it needed to be, you pay first before you even get your food and cant refund, and when i got my burger they gave it to me burnt after waitng 40 minute!!

Mary Ann G.

Yelp
Great location...bar staff on the water side were less than friendly; however the street side bar staff (one girl) was fabulous. Wished we had started there!

Richard M.

Yelp
Good food, but very bad at connecting food with the customer! Witness customer is getting very angry!

Lisa D.

Yelp
Terrible. All self service after paying a lot for subpar food and giving a tip I would never return and I would never recommend. Used to be way better and have a much better menu.
google avatar

Paul F.

Yelp
Let me start by saying your customer service sucks. If you cannot take care of customers, you should really close. No excuses. I placed an order and the gentlemen on the phone said it would be 30 minutes. Fantastic. I arrived and paid for my pizza plus left a $15.00 tip. The guy at the counter said it would be just a minute. It is coming out of the oven now. Just a minute.... About 15 minutes later, ( after the guy seated or took reservations for all of the people that walked in the door) I had to approach the guy to ask for my order. What is up with that? I finally was given my pizza. The guy apologized and said, "sorry, we are busy". Okay. I am SICK AND TIRED OF THAT EXCUSE. You had no problem taking my money, but I cannot get my order as promised in the time said? If you cannot handle your business, close. I may never be back. Someone should always look at the take out counter or have someone stationed there. This isn't brain surgery.
google avatar

Scott K.

Yelp
I was pretty disappointed in this place. Pros: Food was delicious Craft sodas were amazing Location could not be much better Cons: Waited 15 minutes before anyone greeted my table. Seemed like there was only one server She seemed like she would have liked to been somewhere else. My takeaway was, focus more on customer service and pay attention to the timelessness of just greeting a table (if your busy, just tell us) and this would have been 5 stars.
google avatar

Erin B.

Yelp
Didn't make plans ahead (I don't really have a good excuse) and ended up forlornly wandering downtown Petoskey in a light sprinkle looking for Friday dinner. Thank goodness Yelp pointed us to Beards! The host said that the wait would be 20-30 minutes (turned out to be closer to 10 ) and they had a little gift shop where we could browse and stay out of the rain. We ordered the breadsticks and mushroom pizza! Both super great. My wife had the drier of their two ciders and said it was nice, if still a little sweeter than her usual personal preference. I had hot tea to get warmed up. We were pretty hungry and still had half a pizza left (which we of course ate for breakfast the next day), so plan accordingly when you order. Our server was great and we didn't wait especially long for our food, which was impressive given the Friday night crowd.
google avatar

Samantha S.

Yelp
This is BY FAR the worst brewery experience I've ever endured! I'm surprised, seeing as how the ratings are seemingly high. We're a military couple who have moved all across the entire US from Alaska to Fl to Cali. Been to innumerable breweries across the nation. Went to Beards cause hubs liked the logo; plus, like I said, the ratings seemed pretty high. Firstly, the waitress took forever to come up to us initially. "Must be busy" I'm thinking. She finally comes by, takes our drink orders, proceeds to bring the wrong drink (a cider instead of a beer!) along with no napkins. Takes forever to get her attention to correct the beer. Finally does. "Must be busy" I'm thinking... debating on walking out without food at this point. Decide to stay to eat... The sandwich I ordered is supposed to come with a pickle. food server fails to bring it. He sets down my plate and I said "isn't this supposed to come with a pickle?" He looks confused, goes to grab my plate off the table, and I tell him "you can leave this here. Just bring us our pickles, please." Still seems flustered...finally leaves only to come through the kitchen door carrying two pickle spears WITH HIS BARE HANDS!!! What?!?! He sets them down on our plates and I tell him " i'm sorry but you touching our pickles with your bare hands is kind of grossing me out. Can you bring us different pickles?" He gets annoyed, rolls his eyes and tells me "I just washed my hands like 5 minutes ago." Told him I didn't care and wanted pickles on a plate. He storms off. He returns in less than a minute, curtly throws the plate of pickles on our table, and storms off without saying anything. At this point, I'm not going to eat ANY of the man-handled pickles! Gross! I've worked in restaurants before; I'm not foolish enough to think workers do not bare-hand touch food back in the kitchen...but to do it where customers can SEE it? Someone needs food handlers training again. On top of all that, the food was extremely salty. By this point, I'd had enough. NEVER am returning to Beards again. Got the sticker with the cool logo. It's the ONLY thing this brewery actually has going for it.
google avatar

Mj J.

Yelp
Wow!!!!! What an awesome brewery. I'm so excited that we finally made it back here! Last time we were here, I was super hungry and didn't have the patience to wait. It gets busy so pack your patience...lol. They do a nice job managing the crowd and trust me, it's worth the wait. We enjoyed some ice cold beers and split an appetizer. They participate in the passport and have tagabrews. We still had quite a few more stops in our day so we didn't want to get weighed down by too many carbs. I really loved the outside patio area, too. Beautiful views and brews.
google avatar

Kurt F.

Yelp
Came for the beer. IPA lover. Each selection under "Hoppy" was great! Nice flight. Beautiful setting.
google avatar

Benjamin B.

Yelp
They joke around about milk because the beer and service is terrible. Don't waste your time on this dump. They serve beer in dirty glasses. The recent review from "Benj S" is Benjamin Slocum, one of the owners. They can't even get good organic reviews so they have to make them up with employees or relatives.
google avatar

Renae L.

Yelp
We stopped in for lunch today while visiting wedding venues. I ordered the half size of the fattoush salad and a bowl of tomato quinoa soup. Love that these items were clearly listed as vegan on the menu. Super tasty! My son ordered the full size and it came in a large bowl akin to a family style serving bowl. We ending up taking the soup and half of his salad home. The view is stunning over the lake from their windows.

Nicholas T.

Yelp
I felt like I was in a cafeteria. The menu had almost no options and then I had to walk from my table to the bar to order my drinks and food. Then I had to wait for my name to be called, picked it up at a separate counter and had to walk to a separate table to get my plastic utensils. This place is great if you're looking for a local cafeteria that serves beer.
google avatar

Heather R.

Yelp
If you love beer, this is the place for you! If you're coming for the food, its about 70% satisfaction. If you want a nice view and family time, try it out! Atmosphere: The establishment is massive! There is ample seating downstairs and some seating upstairs. Upstairs has bar seating that looks out over Lake Michigan - a to-die-for view!! There's also board games, and table games. Food/Drinks: Anywhere that offers Beer Flights is a win for beer drinkers! They have very reasonable flights, a large variety, as well as seasonal specials. The Luna-Beer-Cheese Poutine was pretty tasty if you're into the cheesy dishes. We ordered half of Peppadew and Pepperoni and Sweet and Spicy pizza. The peppadew was the better of the 2 but neither pizzas were good.
google avatar

Marianne G.

Yelp
What a great place to visit! They have a pretty large space and they have a phenomenal view right on the bay in Petoskey. They also have a small second level that is all hightops and windows and gives you a great little hiding spot and view of the water. There was a decent sized dining space, and also a bar. For an afternoon, it was decently busy in there. Our service was lacking a little bit, but I do believe since it was the middle of the day that there was only 1-2 servers on duty. We had to get up and hunt someone down just to pay our bill to leave. There is a small "store" at the entrance where they had beer to go and glasses, shirts, etc. Pretty cool little place to check out if you are in town!
google avatar

Brian P.

Yelp
The place was nice but we had a bad experience. My wife's food was fine. She enjoyed hers... but mine not so much. That was mainly on our part as it did say "buffalo coleslaw" which neither of us notice at first. So was pretty confused when she said it may be a bit spicy. When it arrived I realized it had Buffalo sauce. So I checked the description again and sure enough it had "Buffalo coleslaw". Didn't realize that meant Buffalo sauce coleslaw. Which in my opinion is everyone's least favorite sauce. Had I realized that's what "buffalo coleslaw was... I'd definitely not order it. But as said that's mainly our fault for not understanding. What made the experience poor was the fact that we didn't see our waitress from the time we ordered our food to about 10-20 mins after we were done eating and sat there wondering if she'd ever return. At one point I thought about asking another waitress to get ours so we could get it handled. Had she have stopped by our table within the first few bites like most restaurants do I may have had the opportunity to address this and got a different item. I even took the coleslaw off and was going to eat it had she came back to maybe get me some other sauce to put on it to hopefully make it edible. But nope. I stomached through about 1/2of the sandwich and overcooked fries but couldn't do it anymore. We didn't get refill of our drinks. We had a pitcher of water but it was gone. Which I was thinking of getting something other than my water but she never returned. So I never had a chance to. The experience could have been saved but nobody was around to fix it. Luckily I was able to explain at the end but by then it was too late. I understand wait staff is extremely short handed and everyone is stressed out but we were walked passed a few dozen times with no checking in on us. While other tables got what they needed. I think she forgot we were even still there or something. Luckily the meal was comp but I think this all just could have been prevented if we were not ignored the whole time. Will we be back? Eh maybe but we will definitely have to flag someone down.